Ride of the Stationery

This utterly contemptible lethargy continues. Not even a Wagnerian chimpanzee was able to snap me out of it today.

EXIF_JPEG_T422

Yes, you read that right.

But it’s a holiday, Father’s Day. MY holiday, right? Certainly that should snap me out of it.

Well, I suppose it should on paper. The thing is I don’t care for holidays. At all. Whether one is talking about Christmas or Arbor Day it’s all the same to me. Hell, I’d forget my own birthday if given half a chance.

40paper

Not this year though. More on that in upcoming posts.
Image credit: Ben Terrett

So why is this? I’ve never been terribly materialistic. I’ve become even less so as I’ve aged, so I’ve never really been motivated by presents or anything like that. I’m also not religious or of the opinion that one should base goodwill on any particular day or season. Frankly as a father I don’t need a special day. I’m special EVERY day, dammit!

However, I’ve noticed society in general tends to check whatever little of its collective brain at the door during holidays. Witness how difficult it is to get even simple tasks accomplished between, say, 15 December and 5 January.

closed-sign-smer

“Duur ….”
Image credit: Demeur

Granted, that doesn’t bother me as much as it used to, but that’s only because I’m not in the workaday rat race anymore.

And don’t even get me started on the manufactured greeting card holiday crap.

g1_u42990_anna_jarvis

A bit late for second thoughts, isn’t it Anna Jarvis?
Image credit: The My Hero Project

If there’s an upside to this, it’s that no one complained when I slept in today. Not even my daughter, who’s been a perky morning person literally since birth. Here’s hoping I get some energy back for tomorrow. I have her until Tuesday, so I’m gonna need it.

Leave a Reply

